The 23-24 members of the board for the Northwest Florida State College Foundation Board.

The Northwest Florida State College Foundation hosted its Annual Board Installation and Recognition Reception on August 24, 2023. 

The event provided a platform to welcome new Foundation directors, honor outgoing members, introduce fresh leadership, and celebrate the remarkable accomplishments of the past year.

As the event commenced, Dr. Bo Arnold, who served as the 2022-23 Foundation Board Chair, took the stage to commend the six departing board members: Ken Wampler of Newman-Daily Resorts; JD Peacock, Okaloosa County Clerk of Court; Dave JeffersonMichelle Freeman of Fleet & Smith, P.A.; Rhonda Skipper, Walton County Tax Collector; and Kim Kirby of the Walton County School Board.

Ken Wampler received the prestigious Chairman’s Award. The accolade recognizes an exceptional Foundation Board member who has led through exemplary actions and substantially uplifted the organization. With over three decades of expertise in the tourism industry, Wampler brought a unique perspective to the board. His tenure witnessed crucial decisions, including steering through the challenges posed by the pandemic, the sale of College Courtyard Apartments, the divestment of some timber property, and overseeing the hiring of Chris Stowers as the new Executive Director.

Highlighting the financial accomplishments of the past fiscal year, Dr. Arnold announced that the Foundation had successfully raised more than $1.23 million. The endowed funds administered by the Foundation translated into over $650,000 in scholarships awarded and a substantial $1.3 million contribution to Northwest Florida State College. These funds were instrumental in enhancing programs and services, with a noteworthy mention of the financing support provided for the on-campus student housing project, Raider Village.

Alan Wood, of CCB Community Bank took over leadership duties from Wampleras the 2023-24 Foundation Chair, lauded Dr. Arnold’s tenure and presented him with a crystal gavel as a token of appreciation. Wood introduced the fresh faces joining the Foundation Board: Brig. Gen. USAF, Ret. Fran HendricksTim McCool of 3rd Planet Brewing and Crumbl Cookies; Wendy McAdams DorrZach McCluskey; and Neko Stubblefield. He also unveiled the 2023-24 Executive Committee, including Vice Chair Jonathan Ochs, Treasurer Cindy Frakes, Past Chair Bo Arnold, Secretary Chris Stowers, and Executive Director of the Foundation, with the NWFSC President, Dr. Devin Stephenson, Trustee Liaison Don Litke

Wood concluded his address by outlining upcoming initiatives, including a Raider Athletics campaign, expansion of the President’s Circle program, and an emphasis on achieving 100% board participation in annual fundraising.

Dr. Devin Stephenson, the President of Northwest Florida State College, brought the event to a stirring close. He urged the foundation board members to leverage their collective energies and influence for the institution’s betterment, emphasizing that their efforts could shape a transformational narrative for future generations.

Download our app to stay in the know about niceville

Support local news. get cool stuff.

We’ve never needed local news more than we have today. With newspapers going out of business and fewer reporters around to watchdog local government, cover events or sports, and make sure you know what’s going on in your community


Donate today to keep local, independent and accountable journalism in your community today


Plus, we’ll give you some cool swag when you make your donation monthly

Keep Up With Niceville News

Stop scrolling social media to find out what’s going on in Niceville. Sign up for our weekly newsletter for the info impacting your daily life!

Boat on a Bayou